Home Entertainment Top 15 Books Like Divergent To Read

Top 15 Books Like Divergent To Read

by Payal Pedkar
Books Like Divergent

Are you searching for books like divergent? Then, In this article, you will get to know more about amazing books like divergent that you can read for your entertainment. The Divergent Series got quite popular because of its unique futuristic sci-fi world. This book takes you to a dystopian world where you get to a lot of thrill and adventure. The nail-biting suspense of the story keeps you stuck to the book till the end. Keep reading the article to know more books like divergent series that you should not miss on.

List Of Top 15 Books Like Divergent To Read

Firstly, let us have a look at the names of the books like divergent that are worth reading. I can assure you that books like divergent to read will add thrill and entertainment to your reading session.

  1. The Selection By Kiera Cass
  2. Matched By Ally Condie
  3. Delirium By Lauren Oliver
  4. The Uglies By Scott Westerfeld
  5. Birthmarked By Caragh O’Brien
  6. The Chemical Garden Trilogy By Lauren DeStefano
  7. Courier’s Daughter By C.J. Redwine
  8. Angelfall By Susan Ee
  9. The Testing By Joelle Charbonneau
  10. The Darkest Minds By Alexandra Bracken
  11. Eve By Anna Carey
  12. Enclave By Ann Aguirre 
  13. The Maze Runner By James Dashner 
  14. The Hunger Games By Suzanne Collins
  15. Legend By Marie Lu

Top 15 Books Like Divergent

Above I have just mentioned the names of the books like divergent that can be your next read. Next, I will give you in-depth details about each of the best books like divergent that are mind-blowing.

  1. The Selection By Kiera Cass

books like divergent series,

The Selection by Kiera Cass is one of the books like divergent (novel). The book is based on a young girl named America who has to compete for the love of Prince Maxon. She is in competition with thirty-five girls who want to win the heart of the Prince. The main reason for her to participate is to escape her low caste.

America wants to live a peaceful life but she has to face a lot of difficulties because of her low caste. She is already in secret love with a guy named Aspen who is also her very good friend. She doesn’t think highly of Royalty but this changes when she meets Prince Maxon. I recommend you to read this amazing book to know the brimming love story.

  • Author: Kiera Cass
  • Language: English
  • Series: The Selection
  • Genre: Dystopian, Young adult, Romance
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Release Date: 14 April 2012
  1. Matched By Ally Condie

books like divergent and hunger games

If you are wondering what are some books like divergent? Then, the Matched Series is the perfect choice for you. In this book, you will discover a unique world in which everything that you do is decided by the authorities. You can’t choose anything on your own even not your romantic partner.

Matched is among the books like Divergent romance and it centers on a 17-year-old girl named Cassie. The government authorities also make the matches at the age of 17 and Cassie is matched with her best friend Xander. However, a picture of Ky Markham also flashes during the match session. To find out who actually her match is you must go through this romantic novel once.

  • Author: Ally Condie
  • Language: English
  • Series: Matched Trilogy
  • Genre: Dystopian
  • Publisher: Dutton Juvenile
  • Release Date: 30 November 2010
  1. Delirium By Lauren Oliver

books like the divergent series,

Delirium is included in thrilling books like divergent as it is full of thrill and adventure. The story is based on a dystopian world where love is seen as a disease. To protect people from this disease the government here gives a procedure called Cure at the age of 18. The main lead of the story is Lena who also believes the same and is excited about her cure.

But before few days of her treatment, she meets Alex who lives far off and doesn’t believe in govt. Procedures. He doesn’t see love as a threat. Soon, Lena also starts feeling the same and builds a close bond with Alex. Will she get her Cure done and is love really dangerous? To know answers to all your burning questions I suggest you read this book like divergent once.

  • Author: Lauren Oliver
  • Language: English
  • Series: Delirium Trilogy
  • Genre: Young adult
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Release Date: 1 January 2011
  1. The Uglies By Scott Westerfeld

books to read if you like divergent,

The Uglies are counted in the books like divergent series as it has a similar imaginative world that is full of drama. In this world, people are considered ugly since their birth and they undergo cosmetic surgery at the age of 16 to become pretty. The plot revolves around a young teenage girl named Tally who is also excited to go to Prettyville.

David and Shay are two young boys who afterward become friends with Tally and show her that beauty isn’t that important. She too turns rebel towards society and doesn’t conform to it anymore. What will be the consequences of it?  I encourage you to read this exciting book like divergent as it will give you many moral lessons as well.

  • Author: Scott Westerfeld
  • Language: English
  • Series: Uglies
  • Genre: Science fiction, Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Dystopian
  • Release Date: 2005
  1. Birthmarked By Caragh O’Brien

good books like divergent

Birthmarked is indexed in similar books like divergent as it has a very suspenseful plot. The story centers on a sixteen-year-old girl named Gaia Stone. She lives outside in a harsh scorching sun with her mom and dad and believes that they have a duty of delivering three children every month to the enclave.

But when Gaia delivers her first child she sees that her parents get arrested. She is not able to understand what is happening with them? She is sure that she has done everything that the insiders of the enclave asked them to do. Now, She can’t take all this and she is ready to go against them. I refer you to read this awesome book which is among the books like divergent as it also displays the brave spirit of Gaia.

  • Author: Caragh O’Brien
  • Language: English
  • Series: Birthmarked Series
  • Genre: Science Fiction
  • Publisher: Square Fish Publication
  • Release Date: 1 January 2011
  1. The Chemical Garden Trilogy By Lauren DeStefano

what are some books like divergent

The Chemical Garden Trilogy has a book series like divergent which is full of twists and turns. The main character of the story is Rhine Ellery who is sixteen years old. She lives in a world where the constant changes in the genes have made the life of women 20 years and 25 years for males.

The Rhine has only four years left and she was sold as a polygamous bride to birth to more children. Linden her husband despite all this loves her a lot and he gives her the wealth and illusion that she just thought could ever exist. She is happy with him but the clock is ticking. Linden’s father is also trying to make anecdotes to increase Rhine’s life. Will, there be any cure or Rhine will die soon? You must read this breathtaking book like divergent once to know if the Rhine is able to survive or not.

  • Author: Lauren DeStefano
  • Language: English
  • Series: The Chemical Garden Trilogy
  • Genre: Dystopian Science fiction
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster Children’s Publishing
  • Release Date: 22 March 2011
  1. Courier’s Daughter(Defiance) By C.J. Redwine

books similar to divergent

The Courier’s Daughter is one of the books like divergent series as it is packed with adventure and action. The plot centers on Rachel Adams who is not like an ordinary girl and learned to track and hunt. While other girls bow down to the will of their partners she fights with them. When Rachel’s father doesn’t come back from the mission and is declared dead.

The wicked commander makes Rachel the new protector but she doesn’t believe that her father is dead. Logan, a boy whom she fell in love with two years back comes to her help. They both are trying to uncover the secret and find Rachel’s father. Will they be able to do so? I recommend you to read this book as it will answer the questions heading up in your mind.

  • Author: J. Redwine
  • Language: English
  • Series: Courier’s Daughter
  • Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Science fiction
  • Publisher: Balzer + Bray Publication
  • Release Date: 28 August 2012
  1. Angelfall By Susan Ee

books like divergent series

Angelfall is among the good books like divergent as you get to experience intense drama and thrill. The angel of apocalypse has landed on earth six weeks before and they are ready to destroy the earth. The story revolves around a young 17 years old girl Penryn who’s sister has been taken by warrior angels. She wants to get back her sister at any cost.

Raffe is one of the injured enemy angels whose wings have been cut and he is lying on the street.  Penryn has no choice but to take the help of the enemy Raffe to find her dear sister. They both together travel towards San Francisco through northern California. Will they be able to find Penryn’s sister and overcome all the troubles? I suggest you read this one of the fascinating books like divergent for fun and entertainment.

  • Author: Susan Ee
  • Language: English
  • Series: Penryn and the End of Days
  • Genre: Fantasy, Science fiction
  • Publisher: Skyscape
  • Release Date: 28 August 2012
  1. The Testing By Joelle Charbonneau

books like divergent (novel)

The Testing is included in the books like divergent and the plot centers on a sixteen-year-old Cia Vale. She is happy and excited about the completion of her graduation. Every year the Government conducts a test for the selection of the best graduates who can become future leaders.

The testing is a difficult four-round process and Cia, fortunately, clears the test. But when finally she clears the test her father tells her about his disastrous half-memories of testing. She is warned but few others as well yet she leaves for the Tosu city bravely. What will happen to her? To know this you must go through this stimulating book like divergent.

  • Author: Joelle Charbonneau
  • Language: English
  • Series: The Testing Series
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
  • Release Date: 1 August 2013
  1. The Darkest Minds By Alexandra Bracken

books like divergent to read

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken is counted under the books like divergent. The main lead of the story is Ruby who is locked in the garage by her parents on her 10th birthday. Something has changed about her and she is sent to a rehabilitation center by the government and is considered dangerous.

Ruby then gets to know that she is born with some special abilities and her life at Thurmond is hell. She desperately runs from there and meets the leader Liam of the group of kids who escaped from Thurmond. They then leave for East River where they find some strange people who want them to fight against the government. What is the real story behind all of it? I encourage you to read this mind-bending book to know all the aspects of the story and for fun and timepass.

  • Author: Alexandra Bracken
  • Language: English
  • Series: The Darkest Minds
  • Genre: Fiction, Fantasy
  • Publisher: Hyperion Book Publications
  • Release Date: 8 October 2013
  1. Eve By Anna Carey

books like divergent romance

Eve by Anna Carey is placed in the books like the divergent series because of its interesting plot. The story is based on an eighteen-year-old young girl named Eve who is among the people that survived the deadly virus. She grew up in an all-girls school where just before her graduation she gets to know about her role in society.

Eve doesn’t want this fate for herself so she decides to run away from there. Soon, coincidentally she meets a guy named Caleb who’s rough and lives in the wild. Since her childhood Eve was taught to fear men so she doesn’t trust Caleb. But slowly and steadily he wins her trust and promises to protect her. The soldiers are constantly chasing Eve and she has to choose between True love and her life. Whom will she choose? I will leave you at this interesting twist so you go and read this hair-raising book like divergent fast.

  • Author: Anna Carey
  • Language: English
  • Series: Eve Series
  • Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopian Fiction
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Release Date: 3 July 2012
  1. Enclave By Ann Aguirre 

book series like divergent

Enclave is indexed in the books like divergent and the plot centers Deuce and Fade. In the post-apocalyptic world, most people have migrated to the underground enclaves. Deuce turned 15 years old and has taken up her role as a huntress and is paired with Fade.

One day Deuce and Fade discover that their neighboring enclave has tunnel monsters or freaks. They warn the elders but no one is ready to hear them and they are cast out of the enclave. Will they be able to survive the harsh world and face the sun? I refer you to read this astonishing novel when you are getting bored.

  • Author: Ann Aguirre
  • Language: English
  • Series: The Razorland Trilogy
  • Genre: Science fiction
  • Publisher: Square Fish Publication
  • Release Date: 7 August 2012
  1. The Maze Runner By James Dashner 

books similar to divergent

The maze runner is one of the books like divergent and it centers on a young teenage boy named Thomas. He wakes up in an elevator and found himself among some other teenage boys. He has forgotten about everything and has no idea where he is. The town in which he is in is surrounded by huge concrete walls.

Many boys who tried to escape had died and the only way out of that place is through the maze. The maze is strange and the chances of survival are very less. Thomas is ready to take that risk but will he be able to cross the maze and reach the real world? You can find out these answers by reading the maze runner till the end.

  • Author: James Dashner
  • Language: English
  • Series: The Maze Runner series
  • Genre: Young adult, Science fiction, Post-apocalyptic
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press
  • Release Date: 7 October 2009
  1. The Hunger Games By Suzanne Collins

books like divergent series,

The Hunger Games by Suzzane Collins is among the alternative books like the divergent. The plot is based on Panem in North America where the Hunger Games is an annual event. In this game, one girl and boy of age between 12-18 are selected from the 12 districts and it is a royal battle to the death.

Katniss is a 16-year-old girl who gets selected for this game. She has to fight the battle for her life and death. She was a brave girl but this fight was not going to be easy for her. If she survives she has to make choices against humanity and love. How will she escape all this? To know answers to your flaming questions you must read this bewildering story of Katniss.

  • Author: Suzanne Collins
  • Language: English
  • Series: The Hunger Games Trilogy
  • Genre: Adventure, Science Fiction
  • Release Date: 14 September 2008
  1. Legend By Marie Lu

books like divergent and hunger games

Legend by Marie Lu is included in the books like divergent due to its action and drama. The story revolves around 15-year-old June who is being trained under the Republic military. After her brother’s suspicious death she is being given the mission of finding out the criminal.

On the Day, a 15-year-old boy was suspected as the murderer. You will experience the cat and mouse thrill in this novel. But when the Day is caught by June she gets to know the other side of the story. Some shocking truths have been revealed and now June doesn’t know what to believe. The hidden secrets of the authorities are coming to light. What will be the next step of June? I suggest reading this fabulous book like divergent once.

  • Author: Marie Lu
  • Language: English
  • Series: The Legend Series
  • Genre: Science fiction, Young Adult fiction, War story, Dystopian fiction
  • Publisher: P. Puntam’s Sons, Penguin Books
  • Release Date: 29 Novmeber 2011

FAQ

What Books Are Similar To Divergent?

The name of the books similar to divergent are mentioned below

  • The Selection by Kiera Cass
  • Matched by Ally Condie
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver
  • The Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
  • Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien
  • The Chemical Garden Trilogy by Lauren DeStefano
  • Courier’s Daughter by C.J. Redwine
  • Angelfall by Susan Ee
  • The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau
  • The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
  • Eve by Anna Carey
  • Enclave by Ann Aguirre
  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  • Legend by Marie Lu

What Should I Read If I Liked Hunger Games And Divergent?

Below I have given the list of books like divergent and hunger games

  • The Chemical Garden Trilogy by Lauren DeStefano
  • Courier’s Daughter by C.J. Redwine
  • Angelfall by Susan Ee
  • The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau
  • The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
  • Eve by Anna Carey
  • The Selection by Kiera Cass
  • Matched by Ally Condie
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver
  • The Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
  • Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien
  • Enclave by Ann Aguirre
  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner
  • Legend by Marie Lu

What Should I Read After Allegiant?

You can read the books like divergent which are given below after reading Allegiant

  • The Selection by Kiera Cass
  • Matched by Ally Condie
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver
  • The Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
  • Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien
  • The Chemical Garden Trilogy by Lauren DeStefano
  • Courier’s Daughter by C.J. Redwine
  • Angelfall by Susan Ee
  • The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau
  • The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
  • Eve by Anna Carey
  • Enclave by Ann Aguirre
  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner
  • Legend by Marie Lu

Can A 12-Year-Old Read Divergent?

A 12-year-old can’t read the divergent series as it has some violent scenes that may be thought-provoking for the teens. So, it is not advised to give this book to children younger than 13 years old.

Conclusion

Are you a big fan of divergent series? Then, in this article, I have mentioned the books like divergent series that you can read. These books are very entertaining and have imaginative worlds. You will have a long fun reading session with these thrilling books like divergent. I have also introduced the themes and plots of the story for your idea. I can assure you that you won’t be able to leave these books till the last page. The author’s name and the publication are also given for your reference. The brief overview will help you to choose the best one among these books like divergent.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment