Home Entertainment Top 11 Books Like Gone Girl To Read

Top 11 Books Like Gone Girl To Read

by Payal Pedkar
Books Like Gone Girl

There are many books like gone girl that are full of thrill and horror. In this article, I have mentioned other books like gone girl that will excite and entertain you for sure. The gone girl has made a special place in the hearts of the people due to its unique plot and story. The concept of a man’s wife going missing in the gone girl keeps people on the toes till the end of the book. You don’t know what to expect the next and what interesting turn will come. Keep reading the article to know about more thrilling books like gone girl.

List Of Top 11 Books Like Gone Girl To Read

Now, I will tell you the names of books like gone girl that is worth reading. So, keep your specs and snacks ready to read these amazing books like gone girl for fun

  1. The Perfect Girlfriend By Karen Hamilton
  2. They All Fall Down By Rachel Howzell Hall 
  3. Damage By Josephine Hart
  4. The French Girl By Lexie Elliott
  5. Anatomy Of A Scandal By Sarah Vaughan
  6. Fates and Furies By Lauren Groff 
  7. The Perfect Nanny By Leila Slimani 
  8. The Couple Next Door By Shari Lapena 
  9. Sometimes I lie By Alice Feeney
  10. We Need To Talk About Kevin By Lionel Shriver 
  11. The Girl On The Train By Paula Hawkins 

Top 11 Books Like Gone Girl

You are now aware of the names of the books like gone girl that can be your next fine read. Further, I will tell you more in-depth details about these good books like gone girl that you can consider reading.

  1. The Perfect Girlfriend By Karen Hamilton

books to read like gone girl,

The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton is one of the best books like gone girl. The story centers on Juliette who would do anything to win her ex-boyfriend Nate back. She is crazy for him and love knows no boundaries. Juliette even takes up the job of a flight attendant in which Nate is the Pilot. She wants to keep a close eye on him.

How far this mad love will take her? The consequences that Juliette and Nate will face because of some stupid actions taken by Juliette are going to be heavy. Will, she ever get back with Nate or will she lose him forever? I recommend you to read this book like gone girl as it will surely give you goosebumps.

  • Author: Karen Hamilton
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Fiction
  • Publisher: Wildfire
  • Release Date: 20 July 2018
  1. They All Fall Down By Rachel Howzell Hall 

new books like gone girl

They All Fall Down by Rachel Howzell is among the best thriller books like gone girl. The plot revolves around Miriam Macy who gets a surprise invitation to a luxurious private island on the coast of Mexico. She gets very excited and goes on the journey with six other strangers who also got a similar invitation.

The resort is very beautiful and is surrounded by miles of sea-green water. They are amazed to see the place but soon they discover certain weird things. The network on the phones was very low and they were bought there on false claims. Later, one of the strangers disappears and they are not able to find him. Again, one of the remaining six strangers was missing. What is gonna happen next? To know more you need to read this hair-raising novel till the end.

  • Author: Rachel Howzell Hall
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Fiction, Thriller, Mystery, Suspense
  • Publisher: Forge books
  • Release Date: 9 April 2019
  1. Damage By Josephine Hart 

books to read if you like gone girl

Damage by Josephine Hart is included in psychological thriller books like gone girl. The novel centers on a British Politician Dr. Stephen Fleming who has everything that he desires. Even the riches, a parliament seat, and a good family don’t make him happy. He isn’t able to understand why this was happening to him and why he was feeling this way.

One day he gets to meet his son’s girlfriend Anna whom he finds irresistibly attractive. He couldn’t help himself and falls in love with her. He develops an intense passion for her which ultimately affects his whole life. Where will this unhealthy inappropriate relationship lead him? I will leave you questioning so that you read this fascinating book like gone girl soon.

  • Author: Josephine Hart
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Romantic Suspense fiction
  • Publisher: Vintage Books
  • Release Date: 1991
  1. The French Girl By Lexie Elliott

other books like gone girl

The french girl by Lexie Elliott is indexed in the thriller books like gone girl. The story is based on six oxford university students who are really good friends. Every summer they plan a trip to a French farmhouse for fun and enjoyment. All of them were good friends but had some secret rivalries between them.

Everything was fine until they met Severine, a girl who lived next to their house. She was strange but could see the loopholes within the friend’s group and was able to disturb it. One year later, Kate and her friends get to know about her suspicious death. Kate wants to find out what happened last summer because she doesn’t want to lose everything that she has. Kate wants to solve the mystery but do you think she will be able to do that? I suggest you read this book like gone girl once as it is packed with thrill and horror.

  • Author: Lexie Elliott
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Psychological Fiction
  • Publisher: Berkley
  • Release Date: 20 February 2018
  1. Anatomy Of A Scandal By Sarah Vaughan 

best thriller books like gone girl

Anatomy of a Scandal is placed in the more books like gone girl as it is full of suspense and mystery.  The plot centers on James Whitehouse who is a politician and a successful political figure. But he is accused of raping the mistress of his house.

Sophie, his wife trusts him and does not believe that he has raped the house mistress. Her life with James has been good till now but this case has disrupted everything. Kate, the lawyer against James wants to prove him wrong and wants to win the case. You must be thinking who is right and who is wrong? I refer you to read this book as it is very suspenseful and has many unexpected twists and turns.

  • Author: Sarah Vaughan
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Novel, Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Literary fIction
  • Publisher: Emily Bestler Books, Canadian Export edition
  • Release Date: 23 January 2018
  1. Fates And Furies By Lauren Groff 

thriller books like gone girl

Fates and furies novel is the perfect choice if you are looking for books like gone girl and girl on the train. The main lead of the story is a couple of Lotta and Mathilde. They have a great love relationship and they got married at the age of twenty-two. Their friends are even jealous of their picture-perfect love story.

But do things are really as they seem? Sometimes the key to perfect marriage is not only the love but some deep dark secrets. You will love the way the book has been written from both the husband and wife’s perspectives. As the story progresses I am sure these revelations of their marriage will make you go crazy. I encourage you to read this book as you will get to know about many aspects of a relationship.

  • Author: Lauren Groff
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Romance, Novel, Domestic fiction
  • Publisher: Riverhead Books
  • Release Date: 15 September 2015
  1. The Perfect Nanny By Leila Slimani 

more books like gone girl

The perfect nanny is one of the books to read like gone girl as you don’t know what to expect next. The plot centers on a  Parisian young lady who is a nanny to two kids. She grows close to the family and the kids. She seems to be too loving and caring for them and the couple also trusts her.

She is a perfect Nanny according to the parents and they also take her on vacations as well. Can a servant really be that good to your kids? Or there is a dark hidden psychopathic side of the nanny? To know more I recommend you to read this book like gone girl as the reality will hit you hard.

  • Author: Leila Slimani
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Psychological, Thriller, Fiction
  • Publisher: Riverhead Books
  • Release Date: 15 September 2015
  1. The Couple Next Door By Shari Lapena 

books like gone girl (novel)

The couple next door is among the books like gone girl(novel) as it is overflowed with suspense and mystery. The story revolves around a couple of Anne and Marco Conti who seem to have a loving relationship on the outside. But the reality is different and they are on the verge of breaking their relation.

An exciting twist takes place in the story when their one and only daughter, Cora gets kidnapped. Both the parents are held suspective and Detective Rasbach is given the responsibility of investigating the case. Many hidden secrets come to the light that Anne and Marco kept from each other. But who really has kidnapped Cora is the main question? I suggest you read this book similar to gone girl to uncover the truth.

  • Author: Shari Lapena
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Domestic Fiction
  • Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books
  • Release Date: 23 August 2016
  1. Sometimes I Lie By Alice Feeney

books like gone girl and girl on the train

Sometimes I lie is included in the books similar to gone girl as the story has a lot many twists and turns. The novel centers on Amber who met with a terrible accident and was now in a state of coma. She can hear everything that is happening around her but the people have no idea.

The story is the account of events that happened before her accident and how she thinks her husband might have done something. The narrator will take you alternatively to two worlds one when she was fine and one after the accident. The book is very suspenseful and you will get many jawdropping events. I advise you to read Sometimes I lie that is one of the mystery books like gone girl if you love reading different styles.

  • Author: Alice Feeney
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Fiction
  • Publisher: Flatiron Books
  • Release Date: 13 March 2018
  1. We Need To Talk About Kevin By Lionel Shriver 

psychological thriller books

We Need to Talk about Kevin is counted in the books like gone girl. The main lead of the story is Eva and her son Kevin. Recently Kevin has conducted a crime and was involved in a murder. Eva is writing to her husband about their child and how she wasn’t been able to give him the motherhood she wanted.

Kevin is a problematic child and has some evil traits since his childhood. The gap between the mother and son increased as time passed. Kevin didn’t like Eva’s disdain towards him and so he also reacted such. Who is to be blamed? Nature or the nurturer? You must read this amazing and mind-twisting novel for knowing the outcome of the story.

  • Author: Lionel Shriver
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Novel, Fiction, Thriller, Epistolary novel
  • Publisher: CounterPoint Press
  • Release Date: 14 April 2003
  1. The Girl On The Train By Paula Hawkins 

books similar to gone girl

The Girl on the Train is among the books to read if you like gone girl. The plot centers on Rachel who is an alcoholic and suffers from depression. She is used to getting onto a train every day and watching a couple of Jess and Jason.

Rachel wonders about having the same happy life as them but her life never seems to settle. She is emotionally broken and what if she interrupts their life. One day she goes missing and the investigation will lead to join many dissected parts. To know what happens next and where the story will lead? I encourage you to read this spine-chilling book as you will be hooked to it till the end.

  • Author: Paula Hawkins
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Thriller
  • Publisher: Riverhead, Doubleday Publication
  • Release Date: 13 Jan 2015

FAQ

What Should I Read If I Liked Gone Girl?

You can read the new books like gone girl that I have mentioned below

  • The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton
  • They All Fall Down by Rachel Howzell Hall
  • Damage by Josephine Hart
  • The French Girl by Lexie Elliott
  • Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan
  • Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff
  • The Perfect Nanny by Leila Slimani
  • The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena
  • Sometimes I lie by Alice Feeney
  • We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver
  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

What To Read After Then She Was Gone?

I have mentioned the names of the books like gone girl  that you can read after she was gone

  • The Perfect Nanny by Leila Slimani
  • The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena
  • Sometimes I lie by Alice Feeney
  • We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver
  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  • The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton
  • They All Fall Down by Rachel Howzell Hall
  • Damage by Josephine Hart
  • The French Girl by Lexie Elliott
  • Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan
  • Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

Is There A Book After Gone Girl?

No, there is no sequel to the Gone girl but however, you can read the other books such as Dark Places and Sharp Objects by the same author Gillian Flynn.

Who Writes Like Shari Lapena?

There are many authors who write like Shari Lapena such as James Paterson, Sue Monk Kidd, Alison Weir, Maureen Johnson, Meg Cabot, Neal Shusterman, and Harlan Coben, etc.

Conclusion

Are you a book worm and you loved the story of Gone girl? In this article, I have given the names of the fiction books like gone girl that is worth reading. These books are loaded with suspense, thrill, and horror. I am sure that you would love the unique concept of each of the books. I have also mentioned the authors’ names for your reference and for you to get an idea about the writing style. You can go through the themes and overview of the books that I have written. This will help you to choose the best one among these books like gone gir l (novel) for your next reading session.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment