Home Entertainment Top 12 Best Books Like 1984 To Read

Top 12 Best Books Like 1984 To Read

by Payal Pedkar
books like 1984

If you are curious to know about more books like 1984 then you are at the right place. In this article, I will let you know about amazing books like 1984 that you should consider reading. This novel takes you to an imaginary world where everything is in control of those who are in power. This book makes you question the truths and facts. To know more dystopian books like 1984 continue reading the article. I can assure you that you will love these books like 1984 and they will keep you engaged for long hours.

List Of Top 12 Books Like 1984

Let’s have a glance at the names of books like 1984 that are worth your time and effort. I know that these more books like 1984 are fun to read and you will have a good time with them.

  1. All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders 
  2. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro 
  3. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury 
  4. Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  5. We by Yevgeny Zamyatin
  6. The Giver by Lois Lowry 
  7. Anthem by Ayn Rand
  8. In the Country of Last Things by Paul Auster 
  9. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley 
  10. The Lathe of Heaven by Ursula K. Le Guin 
  11. Vox by Christina Dalcher 
  12. The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin

Top 12 Books Like 1984

Now, you know the names of books like 1984 that can be your next good read. In the next section, you will know more in-depth details about the themes and the plot of these dystopian books.

  1. All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders 

books like 1984 and brave new world

All the birds in the sky by Charlie Jane Anders is one of the fantasy books like 1984. The story revolves around a witch Patricia and a tech genius named Lawrence. In school, they both were romantically drawn to each other but as they grew they went on separate paths.

Once again when they meet as adults they still find themselves attracted to each other. They are in love but still, they stand on the opposite sides of the world conflict. Will they be able to find a solution to their troubled relationship? Will they ever be together? To know answers to all these brimming questions you must read this book like 1984 once.

  • Author: Charlie Jane Anders
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Science fantasy
  • Publisher: Tor Books
  • Release Date: 26 January 2016
  1. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro 

like 1984 books

Never let me go by Kazuo Ishiguro is among the fascinating books like 1984. The plot centers on three childhood friends named Kathy, Ruth, and Tommy. They all studied in the idyllic school of Hailsham and were treated specially.

Now, when Kathy has turned thirty-one once again she came across Ruth and Tommy. She starts looking at her past and how it has shaped their future. The mixed story of friendship, love, and memory has changed them a lot. You will love the slow-moving yet very interesting pace of this book. So, I recommend you to consider reading this book like 1984 once.

  • Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Novel, Science Fiction, Speculative Fiction
  • Publisher: Faber and Faber
  • Release Date: 25 February 2010
  1. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury 

modern day 1984 books like

Fahrenheit 451 is included in books like 1984 and brave new world. This novel will take you into the futuristic world where the books are considered waste and are burnt down. The main lead of the story is Guy Montag who does the job of destroying books.

After somedays, he discovers his own love for the books he was destroying. Suddenly one day his bookaholic neighbor disappears and he also could feel his love for books. Now, Guy Montag himself starts hiding the books in his house. He must not be caught and if he is then he has to face the consequences. I suggest you read this book to know what happens next with Montag.

  • Author: Ray Bradbury
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Dystopian
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Release Date: 19 October 1953
  1. Lord of the Flies by William Golding

best books like 1984

Lord of the flies by William Golding is indexed in books similar to 1984. The story centers on a group of British schoolboys who crash on a deserted island. They together think of developing a society according to them. You can join Ralph, Piggy, Simon, Maurice, and the other boys on this unique journey of making society.

Do you think it is going to be easy for them? There will be questions on everything and what may be right for someone might be wrong for others. Dealing with emotional reactions and what is rational and irrational is going to be very difficult. I encourage you to read this book as it will also give you moral lessons for life.

  • Author: William Golding
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Allegorical Novel
  • Publisher: Faber and Faber
  • Release Date: 17 September 1954
  1. We by Yevgeny Zamyatin

books like 1984

We by Yevgeny Zamyatin is placed in the 1984 similar books and it has a similar dystopian world. The novel is set after 200 years of war and almost the entire population of the earth has wiped out except 0.2 percent. The people in this society are under the authorities’ rules and regulations and they are named as nos.

The main lead of the story is D-503 an architect who is working on a spaceship. His life takes a beautiful turn when he meets 1-330 who’s a rebel. He hopelessly falls in love with her. Do you think this love story in a totalitarian society ends happily? What will be the outcome of it? I will keep you at this interesting twist so that you go and read this good book like 1984 as soon as possible.

  • Author: Yevgeny Zamyatin
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Dystopian Novel, Science fiction
  • Publisher: Avon Books
  • Release Date: 1924
  1. The Giver by Lois Lowry 

modern books like 1984

The Giver by Lois Lowry is counted in modern books like 1984 and you get to experience suspense and thrill. The plot centers on a 12-year-old Jonas who has grown up in the world of sameness. There everyone is supposed to do the job that the government has assigned to you. This has added boredom and lack of emotional depth in the lives of people.

Further, Jonas is selected for working as the receiver of memory, a person who keeps the memories before the sameness. He realizes that the world before sameness was much better. He also gets to see the deep dark secrets of this new fragile society. What will be the next step for Jonas? Will he be able to bring the change? I recommend you to read this amazing book as it shows the fighting spirit of Jonas.

  • Author: Lois Lowry
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Young adult fiction, Dystopian, Science fiction
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
  • Release Date: 1993
  1. Anthem by Ayn Rand

dystopian books

Anthem by Ayn Rand is one of the best books like 1984 and it is also based in the future. The novel takes you in a dystopian world of the future where the concept of individuality is terminated.

The story revolves around a young man named Equality 7-2521 who is a rebel and does scientific research. He immediately falls in love when he meets a woman named Liberty 5-3000. They both don’t like the order of society and dream of living a life together. When their acts are discovered by the authorities they run into the wild and start to establish their own world. I can assure you that the struggles and problems that they go through are worth reading. I suggest you buy this dystopian book like 1984 as it shows how far a person can go for love and freedom.

  • Author: Ayn Rand
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Science Fiction
  • Publisher: Cassell, Pamphleteers
  • Release Date: 1938
  1. In the Country of Last Things by Paul Auster 

books like 1984 and brave new world

The country of last things by Paul Auster is like 1984 books and is packed with action and drama. The story revolves around a young woman named Anna. She is touring in an unnamed city in search of her brother William, who was a journalist.

Anna finds that the entire city has collapsed and even his brother’s house was crumbled. She starts doing the job of object hunter in order to find some shreds of evidence regarding her brother. Will, she ever be able to find Williams? What revelations will be made through her exploration? I advise you to read this inspiring book which is among the books like 1984 as it is very emotionally engaging.

  • Author: Paul Auster
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Dystopian
  • Publisher: Viking Press, Faber, and Faber
  • Release Date: 1987
  1. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley 

dystopian books like 1984

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley is among the other books like 1984. It has a dystopian world in which people are divided by castes such as Alpha, Beta, Gamma, Delta, and Epsilon. Here, the children are genetically produced in Hatchery and the people are controlled by addiction.

The main character of the story is John who was a naturally born rebel and didn’t conform to the rules of society. John values individuality and wants the same for everyone. So, he challenges the government and the authorities. How John will be able to do this? To know all about John you must read this nail-biting novel once for pleasure.

  • Author: Aldous Huxley
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopian Fiction
  • Publisher: Chatto and Windus
  • Release Date: 1932
  1. The Lathe of Heaven by Ursula K. Le Guin 

books similar to 1984

The Lathe of Heaven by Ursula K. Le Guin is indexed in books like 1984. The story revolves around a boy George Urr who lives in a society where crime and violence are at their peak. One day he discovers that his dreams have the ability to change reality.

George goes to a psychiatrist named Dr. William Harber to know about his ability. Dr. Harber soon realizes the power that George has and wants to use it for his own purpose. George needs to protect himself and preserve reality. Dr. Harber will try hard to manipulate and change the past and present. Will George be able to do that? I recommend you to read this suspenseful book and other thrilling books like 1984 for fun.

  • Author: Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Science Fiction
  • Publisher: Avon Books
  • Release Date: 1971
  1. Vox by Christina Dalcher 

1984 similar books

Vox by Christina Dalcher is included in modern day 1984 books like and has an imaginative world. The plot centers on Dr. Jean McClellan and her six years old daughter. They are surprised when the government announces that the women can no longer speak more than 100 words. If they do so they’ll receive a shock from the wrist sensors.

Is it just the beginning of taking the rights of women? Later, the women are expelled from doing the job, and girls are no longer taught to read and write. Dr. Jean can’t let this happen with her daughter. What will she do to fight against the authorities? To know the answers to these questions you must go through this mind-boggling book.

  • Author: Christina Dalcher
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Suspense, Fantasy, Political Fiction, Dystopian Fiction
  • Publisher: Berkley
  • Release Date: 21 August 2018
  1. The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin

books like 1984 and brave new world

The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin is placed in books like 1984 and is packed with mystery and action. The story is based on two planets that are isolated named Anarres and Urras. A Physicist called Shevek wants to unite the two civilizations.

Both Anarres and Urras are very different from each other in terms of ideologies, perceptions, capitalism, freedom, and individualism, etc. Shrevek knows that his efforts of combining the planets will lead to a lot of better future opportunities. But do you think the two different civilizations will be able to merge together? To know the exciting and unexpected twisted story I encourage you to read this book once.

  • Author: Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Science fiction
  • Publisher: Harper and Row
  • Release Date: 1974

FAQ

What Should I Read If I Like 1984?

If you liked 1984 then you can read books like 1984 which I have mentioned below

  • All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
  • Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  • We by Yevgeny Zamyatin
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry
  • Anthem by Ayn Rand
  • In the Country of Last Things by Paul Auster
  • Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  • The Lathe of Heaven by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Vox by Christina Dalcher
  • The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin

Why Is 1984 A Banned Book?

1984 was a banned book because of its provoking social and political theme. The book has also had some scenes that are inappropriate and it was banned for being pro-communism.

What Genre Of Book Is 1984?

The genre of the book 1984 is Science, political, dystopian, and social science fiction.

Which 1984 Movie Is Closest To The Book?

Yes, The movie is an adaptation of the book.

The Nineteen Eighty-Four movie was directed by Michael Radford and was released in 1984 was the adaptation of the novel 1984 written by George Orwell.

Conclusion

1984 book has made a deep impression on the minds of the people. Do you want to read more books like 1984? Above, I have mentioned a list of alternative books like 1984 that you can read in your free time. You will get to know about the basic themes and the plot of the books in this article. The author and the publication names are also given for your reference. I am sure that you will love to read all of these books like 1984.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment